E-visa vs Regular visa

To apply for a regular visa, you are required to go to a Georgian embassy in your home country and submit the required documents for a regular visa in-person, while an e-Visa is applied for online. You do not have to submit a passport or any other documents in-person. You also need to wait for some weeks to get a Georgian regular visa as opposed to a few days to get a Georgian e-visa.

You can apply for a regular Georgian visa by going to the Georgian embassy in your home country. You have to submit all the necessary documents for the regular visa.

The advantage of a regular Georgian visa is that it is valid for a longer period compared to a Georgian e-visa. The disadvantage is that it takes a longer period to process. You need to schedule an appointment before you get to the Georgian consulate to get this visa.

How and where to apply for a regular Georgian visa?

If you cannot apply for a Georgian e-Visa, you can apply for a regular Georgian visa from a Georgian embassy in your home country.

The Georgian government grants regular visa to citizens of most European countries. You have to fill and submit the regular visa application form to a Georgian embassy in your home country, along with other documents.

What are the requirements to be eligible for the Georgian e-visa?

The eligibility conditions are as follow when you opt for a Georgia e-visa:

  • It is granted to travelers who want to visit relatives and friends, transit, recreational activities, or short term business visit.
  • The passport must be valid for six months or more from the date of the visa application.
  • The passport must have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Georgian Immigration Authorities.
  • Children and toddlers must have separate passports.

The following documents are needed when applying for an e-visa:

  • A passport with validity not at least six months.
  • Digital Passport photographs.

You may be required to produce the following documents on your arrival:

  • The printed copy of your Georgia e-visa.
  • A passport with a validity of not less than six months.
  • Invitation letter if any
  • Medical/health insurance cover for the duration of stay.

E-visa application process

Georgia e-Visa is an electronic visa that permits travelers to enter the country, without the need for a regular visa.

It is compulsory to apply for an e-visa to go to Georgia if you do not have a regular visa. It is more practical and faster. Georgia’s e-visa can be applied for online.

Applying for a Georgian e-visa is very easy and fast. To get a Georgian e-visa, you do not have to visit an embassy/ministry for the visa interview. The only major requirement is a passport which should be valid for a minimum of 6 months from the date of application.

You can apply for an e-visa by visiting the official embassy website of Georgia. Once you submit the online application form and make a payment, you will receive an email address authentication message. Once you verify your email address, the Georgian e-visa will be sent to your verified email address.

Passport holders of the following 66 countries and territories can obtain e-Visas.

90 days per 180-day period

  • Bolivia
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • East Timor
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

30 days per 120-day period

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • The central African Republic
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Jamaica
  • Laos
  • Lesotho
  • Macau
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • North Korea
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Togo
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe